a href="http://www.expatsblog.com">ExpatsBlog.com - Where Expats Blog>
Overblog
Edit post Follow this blog Administration + Create my blog

Hiking Mount Kenya. Part 2

by Raad May 30 2014, 09:51 travel Kenya

Hello everyone! This post is the second part telling about my husband hiking in Mt. Kenya National Park (written by Raad). Enjoy!

After setting off for the second day of the trip at 0700 hrs, we started our hike. We were told to prepare to walk around 20kms, which would take roughly 8-9 hours.

Hiking Mount Kenya. Part 2
Hiking Mount Kenya. Part 2
Hiking Mount Kenya. Part 2

The hike was really fun and very scenic.

Hiking Mount Kenya. Part 2
Hiking Mount Kenya. Part 2
Hiking Mount Kenya. Part 2
Hiking Mount Kenya. Part 2
Hiking Mount Kenya. Part 2
Hiking Mount Kenya. Part 2
There were some sign indicators telling you were to go (I still really recommend sticking with a guide)
There were some sign indicators telling you were to go (I still really recommend sticking with a guide)

There were some sign indicators telling you were to go (I still really recommend sticking with a guide)

Our tireless team on some endless battery charges! (or speed)

Our tireless team on some endless battery charges! (or speed)

We were crossing a very long valley with a loud river at its bed. I've seen many plants for the first time in that area. They looked like they're from outer space!

Hiking Mount Kenya. Part 2
Hiking Mount Kenya. Part 2
Hiking Mount Kenya. Part 2
Hiking Mount Kenya. Part 2
Weird plants (at least for me)

Weird plants (at least for me)

Hiking Mount Kenya. Part 2
Hiking Mount Kenya. Part 2
Hiking Mount Kenya. Part 2
Hiking Mount Kenya. Part 2
Hiking Mount Kenya. Part 2

The hike started to seem endless to me as there was even no sight of the camp that we were supposed to reach. I'm really glad that my friend was encouraging me that I could make it to the camp.

After passing the elevation of 4000 meters (i was looking at my GPS), I could really feel that lack of oxygen. I was starting to become light headed, dizzy, and started to have a slight headache.

What is amazing is that our guide and porters were not showing any sign of fatigue. It was actually the 8th time our guide was climbing this mountain and probably he has done more than 14 by now!

At one point, we saw the camp from far away, but it took us another good hour or so to reach it. The last bit before the camp was quite steep, I really needed to catch my breath at that point. I think I stopped for around 15 minutes to make the final push to Shipton's camp.

Hiking Mount Kenya. Part 2
Hiking Mount Kenya. Part 2
Hiking Mount Kenya. Part 2
Hiking Mount Kenya. Part 2
Hiking Mount Kenya. Part 2
Hiking Mount Kenya. Part 2
Hiking Mount Kenya. Part 2
Hiking Mount Kenya. Part 2
Hiking Mount Kenya. Part 2
Hiking Mount Kenya. Part 2
Hiking Mount Kenya. Part 2
Hiking Mount Kenya. Part 2
Here, I decided to be a smart-ass by not following Chris and took a shortcut..The end result was...muddy

Here, I decided to be a smart-ass by not following Chris and took a shortcut..The end result was...muddy

Upon arrival, around 1600 hrs, my sweater was soaked wet and it was around 4 degrees Celsius. I went quickly to change my cloths in the camp and hope that the sweater would dry before the departure.

It was great to know that we will stop for a few hours and have a hot meal!
It was great to know that we will stop for a few hours and have a hot meal!
It was great to know that we will stop for a few hours and have a hot meal!
It was great to know that we will stop for a few hours and have a hot meal!

It was great to know that we will stop for a few hours and have a hot meal!

The scenery at the camp was really amazing, though it was too cloudy to see the peak of the mountain.

The mighty peak of Mount Kenya....it looked majestic! (...and scary)
The mighty peak of Mount Kenya....it looked majestic! (...and scary)
The mighty peak of Mount Kenya....it looked majestic! (...and scary)
The mighty peak of Mount Kenya....it looked majestic! (...and scary)

The mighty peak of Mount Kenya....it looked majestic! (...and scary)

We met a couple who used another route to reach Shipton's Camp. We agreed to leave together at dawn. Chris told us that we need to be ready for departure at 0200 to make it to the top by sunrise (hopefully!).

To be continued...

comments

Go to top